Evangelista, Toyado qualify for Canada SEED program scholarship

Category : Internationalization | Sub Category : Faculty Posted on 2020-08-20 16:12:09

Evangelista, Toyado qualify for  Canada SEED program scholarship

Started under CatSU President, Dr. Minerva I. Moralesโ€™ term, another batch of qualifiers from Catanduanes State University (CatSU) is off to Canada as scholars under the Canada-ASEAN Scholarships and Educational Exchanges for Development (SEED) program. Its first batch was recently completed last July 2020 by non-teaching staff, Mr. John Edmund P. Manlagnit of the Universityโ€™s Public Relations and Media Communications Services (PRMCS) Office.

In an advisory, Ms Le Li, Senior International Specialist in the International Office of the University of Saskatchewan, Canada, informed the CatSU through its Director for International Affairs, Dr. Joseph G. Zafe, that Prof. Abelisa D. Evangelista and Engr. Dexter M. Toyado both qualified as recipients of the SEED program. The two faculty members received their scholarship by Global Affairs Canada in the 2020 SEED scholarship competition for research at the University of Saskatchewan from January 5, 2021 until June 30, 2021.  Prof. Evangelista is currently Director of CatSUโ€™s Abaca Technology Innovation Center (ATIC), while Engr. Toyado is Director of the Center for Climate Change Solutions. The SEED grantees paid their courtesy visit to the Officer -in-Charge President of CatSU, Dr, Freddie T. Bernal along with International Relations Director and Mr. Manlagnit, the first batch scholarship grantee.

 The SEED program provides students from member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) with short-term exchange opportunities for study or research in Canadian post-secondary institutions at the college, undergraduate and graduate levels.

  Funding for SEED scholarships is made available by Global Affairs Canada through its legal title, the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD). The Canadian institution will receive funding from DFATD for all successful candidates in the form of a contribution agreement and will be responsible for providing the funds for scholarship recipients.

Recent News
Leave a Comment:
Back to Top